To give you the best possible experience, this site uses cookies. Continuing to use this site means you agree
to our use of cookies. If you'd like to learn more about the cookies we use please find out more

GOVST members

The members of the GODAE OceanView Science Team (GOVST) reflect all major activities supported by GODAE OceanView. The GOVST has a limited number of just over 30 member to allow for efficient and effective operation of the team. The science team is co-chaired by two of its members. The GOVST will meet at least once per year.

The chair of the ET-OOFS (the JCOMM Expert Team for operational ocean forecasting systems) and the co-chairs of the task teams are ex-officio members of the GOVST. Representatives from Argo, GHRSST or the OST are also ex-officio members of the GOVST.

GOVST members list:

NoRoles NamesAffiliation RoleCountry
 GODAE OceanView Co-chairs
  1Co-chairEric ChassignetFSUCo-chairUSA
  2Co-chairFraser DavidsonFisheries and Oceans CanadaCo-chairCanada
  3Co-chairPN VinayachandranIndian Institute of ScienceCo-chairIndia
 GODAE OceanView Programme Office
  4CoordinatorKirsten Wilmer-BeckerMet OfficeCoordinatorUK
Representatives of the National Forecating Systems
  5AustraliaGary BrassingtonBureau of MeteorologyRepresenting BLUElink
Chair of the ET-OOFS
  6BrazilClemente TanajuraUFBARepresenting REMOBrazil
  7CanadaNatacha BernierEnvironment CanadaRepresenting CONCEPTSCanada
  8ChinaGuimei LiuNMEFCRepresenting NMEFCChina
  9FranceYann DrilletMercator OceanRepresenting Mercator OceanFrance
 10IndiaAbhisek ChatterjeeINCOISRepresenting INCOISIndia
 11ItalyGiovanni CoppiniCMCCRepresenting MFSItaly
 12JapanYosuke FujiiMRI-JMARepresenting MRI-JMAJapan
 13Korea, Republic ofDo-Seong ByunKorea Hydrographic and Oceanographic AgencyRepresenting KOOFS/KOOSRepublic of Korea
 14NorwayLaurent BertinoNERSCRepresenting TOPAZNorway
 15UKMatt MartinMet OfficeRepresenting FOAMUK
 16UK, ECMWFKristian MogensenECMWFRepresenting ECMWFUK/Europe
 17US - ECCO/ECCOIIPatrick HeimbachMITRepresenting ECCO/ECCO IIUSA
 18US - HYCOMPat HoganNRL, USARepresenting HYCOMUSA
 19US - RTOFSAvichal MehraNOAARepresenting RTOFSUSA
Task-Team Co-chairs
Coastal and Shelf Seas Task TeamPierre DeMey
Villy Kourafalou
University of Miami/RSMAS
Co-chairs of the COSS-TTFrance
Coupled Prediction Task TeamChris Harris
Hal Ritchie
Met Office
Environment Canada
Co-chairs of the CP-TTUK
Data Assimilation Task TeamMatt Martin
Andrew M Moore
Met Office
California University of Santa Cruz
Co-chairs of the DA-TTUK
Marine Ecosystem Analysis and Prediction Task TeamKatja Fennel
Marion Gehlen
Dalhousie University
Co-chairs of the MEAP-TTCanada
Intercomparison and Validation Task TeamFabrice Hernandez
Gregory Smith
Mercator Ocean
Environment Canada
Co-chair of the IV-TTFrance
 30Observing System Evaluation Task TeamElisabeth Remy
Yosuke Fujii
Mercator Ocean
Co-chairs of the OSEval-TTFrance
Observing system representatives and other linkages
 31Aquarius (and other missions)Tong LeeJPL, NASARepresenting Remotely Sensed Salinity observation missionsUSA
 32ArgoDean RoemmichUCSDRepresenting Argo science teamUSA
 33EUMETSATFrancois MontagnerEUMETSATRepresenting EUMETSATGermany
 34Groug for High Resolution Sea Surface Temperature (GHRSST)Gary CorlettUniversity of LeicesterRepresenting GHRSSTUK
 35Ocean Observation Panel for Climate (OOPC)Eric LindstromNASARepresenting OOPCUSA
 36Ocean Surface Topography (OST)John WilkinRutgers UniversityRepresenting OST science teamUSA


Latest update - June 2018