To give you the best possible experience, this site uses cookies. Continuing to use this site means you agree
to our use of cookies. If you'd like to learn more about the cookies we use please find out more


Symposium home | Committees | Announcements | Programme | Sessions | Registration | Attendees | Abstract submissions | Oral presentations | Poster presentations | Survey | Local info | General | Contact |



Programme Committee

Local Organising Commitee


Symposium logo

Operational Oceanography aims to address many challenges with timescales from days to decades, regions ranging from coastal areas to the global ocean and applications from off-shore industries to ocean ecosystems. This is inherently an international issue, requiring broad collaboration and is beyond the capability of one country. GODAE OceanView (GOV) is moving from an experiment to a long-term international program for Ocean Analysis and Forecasting, providing a platform for international collaboration for the improvement of the national ocean analysis and forecasting systems and the development of new capabilities.

The GODAE OceanView Symposium will provide an opportunity to review the key achievements of GOV in the last years, to celebrate successes, to critically examine the outcomes, and to discuss the next steps towards the future of operational ocean analysis and forecasting and its international coordination.


Programme Committee (PC)

The PC has the task to organise the scientific structure and presentations of the GOV Symposium, will need to decide on how the outcome of the event will be taken forward (e.g. publication of proceedings, papers) and has the responsibility to liaise with the Organising Committee and the Review Committee on the overall Symposium / Review organisation.


Eric Dombrowsky, Mercator Ocean, France

Andreas Schiller,CSIRO, Australia


Björn Backeberg, UCT, South Africa
Pierre Bahurel, Mercator Ocean, France
Rosa Barciela, Met Office, UK
Gary Brassington, BoM, Australia
Hans Bonekamp, EUMETSAT, Germany
Mike Bell, Met Office, UK
Fraser Davidson, DFO, Canada
Albert Fischer, IOC, France
Ed Harrison, NOAA, USA
Fabrice Hernandez, Mercator Ocean, France
Johnny Johannessen, NERSC, Norway
Villy Kourafalou, University of Miami, USA
Pierre-Yves Le Traon, Ifremer, France
Eric Lindstrom, NASA, USA
Peter Oke, CSIRO, Australia
Kirsten Wilmer-Becker, Met Office, UK


Local Organizing Committee (LOC)

The LOC is responsible for the organisation of all communication, logistic and financial matters related to the sympoisum & review.


Mike Bell, Met Office, UK
Jim Carton, University of Maryland, USA
Steve Piotrowicz, NOAA, USA
Andreas Schiller, CSIRO, Australia
Melanie Russ, JOSS/UCAR, USA
June Sherer, University of Maryland, USA
Hendrik Tolman, NOAA, USA
Kirsten Wilmer-Becker, Met Office, UK